tiny worlds

My gran gave me two dollhouses. The first one she decorated and filled with furniture herself. The second was just a shell, a clean slate, a blank canvas. I spent countless hours scouring my house for odds and ends and re-purposing them to create my own miniature space.

I loved to read books about tiny people and their tiny worlds. Here are some of my favorites.

The Littles series by John Peterson

Afternoon of the Elves by Janet Taylor Lisle – My neighbors and I had an elf village in the junk corner of their backyard (elves like junky place according to the book). We built huts, wells, and walking paths and even fashioned a ferris wheel from an old bike!

The Borrowers series by Mary Norton – My local library had these wonderful old hardback versions of these books. I must have checked them out a dozen times.

Indian in the Cupboard series by Lynne Reid Banks – My neighbors and I played Indian in the Cupboard in our neighborhood. Our bikes were our horses.

The Doll’s House by Rumer Godden – I also loved spooky stories, so this was a good combination!

Behind the Attic Wall by Sylvia Cassedy

What miniature worlds did you want to visit?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

