fifty-six years

On Monday, my mother (Momma) celebrated her fifty-sixth birthday. I use the word celebrate lightly. She spent the day cleaning a recently vacated apartment with my youngest sister, SG. But, that’s my mother, always willing to sacrifice a little when her babies need it.

This year, I gave Momma a piece of art from Jackson-Collins, a Mississippi-born artist who currently sells his work at Eastern Market in Washington, DC. At the market, he sells mostly stylized flags and blues collages, but his total portfolio is more diverse.

“Somewhere in the middle of living, I decided to spend the rest of my life as an artist / painter. As a self-taught painter, my goal is to directly stimulate and aggressively promote a visual dialogue parallel to that of our social, political, economic and spiritual realities. Hopefully, this action will lead to a more open and progressive exchange of ideals towards a more “complete” society. This is my dream; I’m Jackson-Collins.”

He and his wire-animal-making neighbor are some of the more intriguing characters at Eastern Market. You can find them there on Saturdays and Sundays holding down the fort at the southern entrance on Seventh Street.  

Jackson-Collins

(photo credit: elizarudd.blogspot.com)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

